Time at the Blackhawks rally with my daughter!.

Image

         In 2005 I attended my first Championship rally for my team the Chicago Whitesox, but then I went with my friend Mike, Tara, and my friend Mike’s Mom. In 2010 I was in Chicago when the Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley cup, and I celebrated on Michigan Ave that night. This time I was at home when the Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup in 2013. So this time I Wanted to go to the Rally, and see the players who brought it home to us in Chicago.

       A few days before the rally my daughter Amanda asked me if she could come with me, I did not know she was into hockey as much as I was, but she named all the players by memory, and now tells me if their is a trade, or something exciting going on with the Hawks.

       We left at about 6:15 am and we took the Metra down to the City, and we were in Chicago by 7:20 am. From there we walked up to Michigan avenue where we waited for about an hour before they started letting people into Grant Park, in Hutchinson field. We talked to other Hawks fans, and some even said they wished next season started now due to the decline in our baseball teams declines. We sat in the heat sipping on a 7/11 Slurpee, and watched one man even climb to the top of a city light pole, and many people were already trying to lead cheers, and show there hawk pride. Some people complained about the lines saying it was to long. I thought to myself well we just brought the Stanley cup to Chicago, and we are PROUD!!!!.

       About 8:15 am we entered Grant Park officially and made our way down to where we took our positions for the rally. We stood there and drank alot of water, took photos, and watched the celebration everything from beach balls, chants, to chicken fights, and if you do not know what a chicken fight is, it is where one person sits on another persons shoulders, and they try to push the other person off. If the person fell the crowd would catch the person who fell and they would crowd surf.

       We sat long we watched the players make their way to Grant Park on double decker buses on the large video screens placed around the field we sat in, and even saw news crews interview a few people in front of us. the police passed out water because of the heat, but most people wanted to uncap the bottles throw them in the air spraying people with the water instead.

        When the the Blackhawks had finally arrived we cheered loud, and we watched Pat Foley introduce the team, and when Jim Cornelison sang the National Anthem we cheered louder than ever, because we are proud Americans, and Blackhawk Fans!!!. We Watched the speeches Patrick Kanes “WHAT’S UP CHICAGOOO?”, and “THAT’S HOCKEY BABY!” Speech. He then Introduced Corey Crawford, Who gave the Amazing F-Bomb speech. Toews got up, and his voice was nearly gone by now after 4 days of celebration. After all that the confetti blew off, the fireworks hit the air, and our Fight song Chelsea Dagger started playing!. We worked our way closer to the front at that time as we watched all the players hoist the Stanley Cup, and kiss it. We danced, and celebrated even more. It was the end of the rally , and we had an amazing time with a crowd of nearly 100,000 in that park. The Parade and Rally together drew over 2 million people. As I say on my Facebook page before every Hawks game even though i am speaking about another Stanley Cup, and an amazing 2014 season, LETS GET EM BOYS!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

